XS1100 Rescue Mission in Progress

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XS1100 Rescue Mission in Progress

Gday all from Australia. Long time bike rider, first time XS owner. Also, long time reader, first time poster (be gentle, its my first time!)

Three days ago i bought myself an XS1100 to be my main mode of transport. I work anywhere in a 200km radius (yes, metric system) and sometimes have to go from one end of that to the other in the same day. Bike is my best option, rain hail or shine, much of the travel is through stop start city traffic. Well, stop start for the suckers in cages.
    I have always had sports bikes, but the wife is finally interested in bikes and riding, so I got the XS after she was having back pains being pillion on a CBR.

OK, boring bit over, XS bit now -
    I bought a 1980 XS1100 for a whopping $800 aussie. Thats like $50 american right? :P Bargain i thought. 500m down the road, number 3 spark plug brushes my knee as it shoots from the head, and an almighty noise follows. Stripped thread - no problem, trailer bike back to my house, repair spark plug thread, new plugs all round, hurray, mobile again.
    No.
    Thise time got about 20kms of riding, before a minor rattle had me pull over and thumb the kill switch. I checked everything i could, i let her cool down, i got brave and thumbed the starter - "THUNK"

Engine is locked solid. Trailer ride number 2.

I have had 'words' with the previous owner, and found that when he put 'rebuild engine' in the advert, he really meant ' taken apart and put back together then sold it to you lol lol lol rofl'

Long Story Summed Up:
    Me - not too bothered, i like building bikes.
    Wife - furious i spent money on a bike that doesnt run.
    Bike - Extremely lucky to be out of the hands of such a **potty words**