fork noise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fork noise

While moving my bike by hand I the front fork made a crackling noise when it compressed (I haven't noticed it when riding). Since I haven't checked the fork oil since I've had the bike and no telling when the PO attended to it, I figure that's a good place to start. The seals seem to be fine. I intend to replace the springs but don't have time now as I have limited time to work on it before I take a mc trip next weekend. Any suggestions as to a cause of the noise and/or for replacing the oil? (I'm a novice wrench but would like to do it myself).
    Robert
    79 SF

I'll bet you a cookie the PO shoved some clear tape in the seal...
    1979 XS11F Standard - Maya - 1196cc (out of order)
    1978 XS11E Standard - Nina - 1101cc
    http://www.livejournal.com/~xs11

Comment

mine makes a similar noise when going over bumps. i've had my forks all apart, replaced seals - I'm not sure where the noise is coming from. I guess I'm not too worried about it.

Comment

Originally posted by beechfront
        mine makes a similar noise when going over bumps. i've had my forks all apart, replaced seals - I'm not sure where the noise is coming from. I guess I'm not too worried about it.
        That's interesting, maybe I'll just wait till when I replace the springs.
        Robert
        79 SF

Comment

are you sure it isn't coming from the steering head bearings and the sound transfering down the fork legs? Dry steering head bearings will make some nasty cracking sounds that are sometimes hard to locate. Try moving the bars in very small increments with the weight on the wheels, listen for noise, feel for roughness or stickyness. Rock the bike gently forward and back with the front brake on and listen, don't rock it hard enough to compress the forks. Just a thought.
          buffalo
          80 XS1100SG

Comment

Preventitive maintenance