Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How many miles can I expect out of my motor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How many miles can I expect out of my motor?

Here is the deal:
    '80 1100SG.
    This is my second bike. I bought it from the original owner. (My boss!) It was in PERFECT shape with 19000 original babied miles. I was afraid to get it wet because it looked like it had never been out of the showroom.
    I take good care of it and don't race it.
    How many miles can I expect from it before it needs a rebuild? I read in another post that somebody was looking for a chain that they don't make any more. What are the top two or three pieces that I need to keep in reserve?
    Is this a reliable machine? It does not leak like my friends HD's all do, thats for sure.
    It seems that it's like owning an old Duesenberg. At some point it sounds like I'm going to have to start making my own stuff. I'm a machinist, but some things are beyond that.
    (Maybe I should start an XS wrecking yard on my patio, the wife would LOVE that.
    '80 XS 1100SG

Merriam Cycle, premier restorers of XS/XJ bikes, has seen several with over 100K without rebuilds.
    Jerry Fields
    '82 XJ 'Sojourn'
    '06 Concours
    My Galleries Page.
    My Blog Page.
    "... life is just a honky-tonk show." Cherry Poppin' Daddy Strut

Comment

My "F" has over 80K miles and has never had any internal parts changed. It still runs strong and is extremely reliable.
      DZ
      Vyger, 'F'
      "The Special", 'SF'
      '08 FJR1300

Comment

With moderate riding and meticulous(did I spell that right?) maint. It will be a couple decades before you have to worry about it. Get it warm at least once a week, adjust the valves every 10-15K miles. I think the thing to look out for is rubber stuff getting old. If you read the owners manual I think it even says something about changing out rubber things after so long.