Oil leaking from front of engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil leaking from front of engine

Hi, i am new to motorcycles, and am trying to fix up a 79 xs1100.

One cylinder is leaking what i assume is oil slowly. I have tried tightening that collar up, but its really tight already.

My question is 1) how do i fix this? (broad overview) 2) does it matter? 3) could this be causing the smoke that i am getting out the tailpipe?

Sorry this is so vague

Look at the picture for details.

That is your exhaust retention stud. Tightening that will not stop an oil leak.
    The glorious rays of the rising sun exist only to create shadows in which doom may hide.

XS11F (Incubus, daily rider)
    1969 Yamaha DT1B
    Five other bikes whose names do not begin with "Y"

Comment

Originally posted by vcgodinich View Post
      Hi, i am new to motorcycles, and am trying to fix up a 79 xs1100.
      One cylinder is leaking what i assume is oil slowly. I have tried tightening that collar up, but its really tight already.
      My question is 1) how do i fix this? (broad overview) 2) does it matter? 3) could this be causing the smoke that i am getting out the tailpipe?
      Sorry this is so vague
      Hi VC and welcome,
      like Succubus sez, that's an exhaust pipe retaining flange fastener. Your exhaust pipes cannot leak oil.
      If the bike runs good, don't let it worry you.
      It may be that oil leakage onto the engine and oil burning in the exhaust have a common cause.
      Time to find and fix this is when the oil is dripping off the fins onto your riding boots
      and you can't see anything in your mirrors except a blue haze.
      Not that bad, you say? Again, don't let it worry you.
      What you can do is brush or spray Dunk or other water-soluble engine cleaner onto the engine
      and scrub the oil stains with an old paintbrush before hosing it off.