I finally got another XS-11 again!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I finally got another XS-11 again!!!

Well I finally found a 1980 XS-11 STD and it runs good, But of course I will need a tank and seat because the seat frame is rusty! The bike runs good down the road but the clutch is on its last leg! I use to own a 1978 Yamaha xs-1100E if some of you remember that gave me alot of problems and I later sold it,, But soon after I started dreading my sale of the bike! When I drove home on it today it gave me flashbacks of being 18yrs old again "Im 39yrs old now" My Hayabusa is a blast for speed but there is nothing like just cruising on the old XS!
    I think I will try to find a shop to replace my clutch since I have never done one before! I wanted to let you all know I appreciate all the help with suggestions on my problems I was having with the 78 model. You guys are great!
    Here is what it looks like when I bought it, But I will be changing this look!

1978 Yamaha XS-1100 STD
    1979 Yamaha XS-1100 Special
    1978 Yamaha XS-1100 STD
    1984 Honda V-65 Magna
    1984 Kawasaki ZN-1100
    1984 Honda V-65 Sabre
    1980 Yamaha XS-1100 STD
    2003 Suzuki Katana 750
    2006 SUZUKI HAYABUSA 1300R

Congrats on getting the new ride!!! Yep, with every ride I like this bike more and more.

As to the clutch, it is really pretty simple to deal with. You definitely should own a torque wrench in my opinion though. Just this weekend we were installing camshafts and I was surprised at how little force it took to reach the required torque.

For the clutch, you do not even need to drain the oil, do it on the side stand. The oil runs out of the cover and you can pull it. Then look at the tech tip on the dremel repair for 2nd gear. It has great pics and descriptions of a number of areas and repairs as part fo getting down to repairing the gears. The clutch and its removal and installation are covered.

Welcome to XS11, or back as the case may be!