Not happy with my "paint shop"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not happy with my "paint shop"

Ugh... I started painting today. I like the color but I have no garage and I am forced to paint in my MI basemet. I hung plastic but dust still falls in my paint. Its so very frustrating. So far I am only on the frame, swing arm, final drive and brackets. I will have to do something different when it comes time for the tins.
    1979 Standard F, At least I think it is.

I like to do my painting outside where I don't have to worry about dust - just bugs. I also like to paint with HVLP equipment so I don't give every car in the neighborhood chicken-pox.
    I think I have a loose screw behind the handlebars.

'79 XS11 Standard, Jardine 4/1, Dyna DC1-1 Coils, 145 mains, 45 pilots, plastic floats - 25.7mm, XV920 fuel valves, inline fuel filters, speed bleeders, Mikes XS pods, spade-type fuse block, fork brace, progressive fork springs/shocks, manual petcocks, 750 FD, Venture cam chain tensioner, SS brake lines

Comment

Paint booth

Yeah I feel your pain. Just painted my tank and badges. It did not turn out too bad but some of the embedded dust bunnies give the paint a rough texture in places. I will leave mine as is for now and chalk up leassons learned.

Next time I will create a paint booth in my garage using plastic with a fan blowing into it with a dust filter.
      Trying not to offend since Aug 28, 2010

Disclaimer: I am an idiot. Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.
      Owner of:
      1979 XS1100F (The Pig)
      140 mains
      45 pilot jets
      Floats at 24mm
      Running Rich

"Arrogant, delusional tyrants can't be stopped by earnest words and furrowed brows. Action, strong bold action coming from a position of strength and determination, is the only effective deterrent." -Mitt Romney

Comment