Seafoam - question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seafoam - question

Guys thanks again for taking the time to answer this....

I searched around this great site and am considering trying seafoam and fresh gas to see if it clears up my problem of stalling without the choke on. It seemed to work for others here.
    It does start and run, but only with the choke on. It will often stall when I try to give it any gas too. The gas has been in it all winter (a.k.a cold-candian-winter) so it is probably crap. I have read posts about using seafoam and my question(s) are...

1. Would this be a good first step to try? i.e. seafoam and fresh gas
    2. Logic would seem that if seafoam cleans out the fuel system isn't it just going to loosen all the crud up and plug everything up even worse? I am a beginner and don't want to mess up a semi running bike and I'm too nervous about cleaning carbs right now.
    3. Also, I replaced the cracked fuel lines and there is air in the lines. Could this be causing the stalls?

thanks ahead of time.
    J
    '84 XJ1100 Maxim

From my experience with Sea Foam, I run a little bit, about 3 oz per tank of gas (5+Gal Tank) all the time. I still had to clean my carbs a couple of years back after letting the bike sit for 3 years without running it. The Sea Foam helps dissolve the varnish that accumulates over the winter months from not ridding. This is in my XS1100G. In my 400 Honda, I have sticking floats that I have not cleaned yet, but after running a tank with 1/2 can of Sea Foam, the floats do not stick any more. The Honda sits unused longer than the 1100. It is always a good first step to try as the Sea Foam actually dissolves the gunk and runs it through the engine as a mixture. It will not dissolve rubber, and if you have the auto rubber type fuel lines, then the rubber flakes off of the insides of those lines and lodges in the filter screen of the carbs, or still worse under the needle valve.