oil leak btwn the head & jugs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• oil leak btwn the head & jugs

Short version. Had rings put in my 1979 special. I haven't ridden it except to the garage from a car trailer & am tryin to work out some bugs . THE ONE who tried to change rings got on bike before i picked it up & ran the **** out of the bike thru his neighborhood until it blew smoke out the right exhaust.... Had trouble with that every since(once bike warms up) although doesn't seem to be happening this evening. My question. Should oil be in that area(btwn jugs& head) and leak when bikes running ? Could it be from the engine not having any miles with new rings? I am NOT a mechanic & have not even had engines 101. I briefly searched for a thread,any help would be appreciated.
    It's just me at the edge..........waving

Does it look like this?

I ran my bike hard on day last summer and it developed the leak in the photo. I used it as an excuse to rebuild my engine. Haven't had engine 101 either and I am just winging it.

I would be curious to know why the leak started. I figure it will go away when I rebuild the engine.

Sam Christensen
    The Chronicles of my Rebuild http://xs1100rebuild.blogspot.com

--------------------------------------------------------
    If you are leading and no one is following, maybe your just taking a walk.

Currently bikeless. Sold my 1980 XS1100 Special

Comment

mine was already apart once

Thats exactly where my leak is.....my bike has supposedly been machined & new rings installed,,,,,, .... trying not to revisit that part of my life still Makes me irate & I couldn't ride if I were in prison)))))) just trying to decide where i need to start ..
      Last edited by QRFan; 02-12-2009, 06:54 PM.

Comment

Prison = bad

I agree, do things that will keep you on this side of the bars.
        Sam Christensen
        The Chronicles of my Rebuild http://xs1100rebuild.blogspot.com