Winter Phenomena?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winter Phenomena?

I've never noticed this before...I've only had this bike since Jan of this year...so today was my first sub-50* ride of abt 60 miles.While cruising along at 55 mph I released my grip on the throttle to shake the circulation of blood to the hand ...Lo and behold the throttle stuck at that speed and worked like a throttle lock speed control.I tried this at various speeds.It seems at a certain position of the throttle it will"stick".This could be dangerous so its not something I want to keep.I've been riding this bike most of the summer and it never did this in warmer weather.So whats going on?Is the throttle cable in need of lubing?Has anyone else experienced this?How did you remedy it?Appreciate all comments.
    1980 XS650G Special-Two
    1993 Honda ST1100

The lube in your cable is starting to thicken.
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Thanks Prom...it sounds like I need to relube it.Is there a certain lube to use that would keep it from thickening...what about a teflon spray lube that dries?Or should I just use something like 3 in 1 oil?I dont like WD-40.Or maybe a white Lithium grease?
      Last edited by madmax-im; 11-11-2008, 02:31 PM.
      1980 XS650G Special-Two
      1993 Honda ST1100

Comment

They used to be like that all the time

Hi Madmax,
        back in 1950's England where one drives on the left twistgrips had friction locks built into them so one could give hand signals without the throttle slamming shut and back in the 1930's most bikes had tank-mounted gate shifters so ditto for shifting gears back then. The modern twistgrip was called a "racing pattern" grip in those days. The throttle staying put when one let's go of it ain't inherently dangerous as long as it's expected to act that way.