Charging problems? (HELP!!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charging problems? (HELP!!)

Okay guys as you know i just got my bike coming up on a week now. Well last night about 915 i was leaving my work and it was dark out. Well when i fired the bike up i was talking to a buddy of mine outside and i noticed that my headlight was acting funny.

When the bike is running in nuetral and i rev it up the light gets brighter. Now i'm not a class A dumbass but on a car that would lead me to believe there's some charging problems. Now i've never worked on a bike before but i don't want to get stranded. Is it a battery problem? Or is it a magneto problem? I'm new to working on motorcycles so bare with me! lol! I just don't want to get stranded somewhere. It still starts and runs fine everytime but the light acts up on me.

I don't know if the shop put a battery in it or not? I haven't called them yet. But any help i coul get on this subject would DEFINATLY help as i am supposed to go riding this weekend with my pops and my uncle! Thanks fellas!
    Yes it's a damn nice bike, yes it's in REALLY good condition, yes it would be a shame to chop it, BUT damn how cool would it look with ape hangers?

mine does pretty much the same thing, but it is hardly noticable unless i am really looking for it.

I had a 68 F-100 that did the same thing but it was a Votage regultor, I dont remember if our bikes have them......????

Mine has done that since I got it over a year ago and havent had any serious problems
    1979 XS1100 SF "Black Goblin"
    -Pod Filters
    -4-1 pipe
    -larger jets for carbs
    1982 XJ1100 "Black Sheep"

Comment

Humm...? I assume that since its still starting and running fine that there shouldn't be a problem with it. I just don't want to get stranded out in bum freak egypt and need a battery to get it home! hahaha! Just tryen to avoid the difficult part!