Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignition Question

Hello,
    I'm brand new to the XS1100, I have a 1981 Midnight special. After riding it approx. 35 miles it fouls a plug, not allways on the same cylinder and all four plugs are shooty black.

first thing I did was check all electrical conectionsremoved and cleaned all the carburators and checked the float levels. new plugs and 35 miles later same thing. tried hotter plugs, same thing.

I checked the TCI and rersoldered the conections, checked the pick-up coil wires all good.

I then beat my head against the wall in rapid succession and took the bike to a mechanic friend of mine.
    He found the pick up coils are acting Erratically (wires check again and still good)

The TCI is a 4RO and the mechanic thinks this is the wrong TCI because it has the ballist resistor to the coils and the vacume advance. I have only had the bike a month so it could have been replaced by the PO.

If the pick-up coils are bad wheres the best place to locate some? have called several places and have not found any other then for a 1979 and an 1980 are they the same?

I have found this site to be very helpful, thank you for any information or suggestions.