1978 xs1100 2 choices high milage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1978 xs1100 2 choices high milage

Hi guys i'm new here just wanted to say hi and get some help on choosing which bike. The are both 1978 XS1100's. One has 86,000 miles and is selling for $700 and looks like it needs to be cleaned. The other is selling for $900 and has 80,000 miles on it, but looks CLEAN! I read the poll on everyones mileage and i am amazed at how long these engines last!! I am still fairly new to being my own mechanic and am leaning more towards the one with the lower mileage. Could i get some help on what to look out for when i am inspecting the bike before purchasing it? Things that would not be obvious/hard to see/hear? thnx guys!
    1978 XS1100E Standard
    Kerker Exhaust
    Tkat Fork Brace

On Hold
    TopCat S.O.F.A. + Fuse Block
    Mike's XS Pod FIlters

Korr - Welcome. Here's a good place to start. 6k isn't a lot of difference in mileage. I'd lean towards whichever one runs better, assuming cosmetics are roughly equal.
    Last edited by dbeardslee; 07-24-2008, 01:42 PM.
    I think I have a loose screw behind the handlebars.

'79 XS11 Standard, Jardine 4/1, Dyna DC1-1 Coils, 145 mains, 45 pilots, plastic floats - 25.7mm, XV920 fuel valves, inline fuel filters, speed bleeders, Mikes XS pods, spade-type fuse block, fork brace, progressive fork springs/shocks, manual petcocks, 750 FD, Venture cam chain tensioner, SS brake lines

Comment

OK just looked at the add again and the 80k mileage one is a 1980. Yeah you're right i should see which one runs better first.I can't help it. I got the jitters from not riding for a few months after i sold my virago I shouldn't get too anxious.
      1978 XS1100E Standard
      Kerker Exhaust
      Tkat Fork Brace

On Hold
      Mike's XS Pod FIlters

Comment

Korr - maybe you should pray the patience prayer. You know, Lord please give me patience - NOW!!!