new member help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new member help needed

This has been discussed to death but I'm still scrathing my head and every tool in the toolbox is on the floor around the bike!I bought a 79sf off e-bay in march$2000anyways took the greyhound 2 1/2 days from st.cloud Mn to Atlanta georgia bought it off the trailer at 4am drove about 350-400 miles a day till I got back home.This thing has all the new updates,metal brake lines,force forks,4into2exhaust blah blah blah.I love this old warhorse(clyde) top heavy and fast.As compared to my 87 kawa1500vulcan.so heres my problem It won't start! I know I know pickup coils.done it it worked for two days,I have a complete twin for parts And another yam 1100 for parts anyways changed plugs,took battery to be checked,when it died it just slowly faded to nothing.barely restarted but when I shut the bike off it never restarted,Now I'm not a mechanic by any means but I can twist a wrench and follow simple directions.Somebody guide me to the articles that are relevant(i lookd didnot find)or give me some advice.I love this bike.don't have a multimeter have a continuity checker thingy.Please Help.

If you did the pick-up coils and it worked for two days, try doing the pick-up coils again. Lots of times, if you find one break, there will be more.
    Ken Talbot

Comment

Hi Clyderider,
      Welcome aboard.
      Hang in there ! The guru's will be along shortly.
      Phil
      1981 XS1100 H Venturer ( Addie)
      1983 XJ 650 Maxim
      2004 Kawasaki Concours. ( Black Bear)

Comment

See it took me so long to type a reply a guru turned up
        Phil
        1981 XS1100 H Venturer ( Addie)
        1983 XJ 650 Maxim
        2004 Kawasaki Concours. ( Black Bear)

Comment

Multi-meter (only $10.00 for cheep analog)

Would first check if it's getting any spark.
          Pull the plugs, stick em back into caps, ground on engine and crank it... (make sure plug caps are not corroded)