XS1100 Backfire/slow throttle response

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XS1100 Backfire/slow throttle response

I recently purchased a XS1100 1981 Ventura. I am from North Dakota and this is my winter project.
    The bike idles OK. When I try to increase the RPMs the engine hesitates, coughs and backfires. When the engine warms up the problem is not so noticable. The vacuum advance seems to be working properly. The timing plate on this model does not have slots in the housing to retard or advance the spark. I guess that is another problem . I do not how this model sets the timing? The service manual I have does does not show what I have mentioned. I have not checked the exhaust system. I have cleaned the carbs. I synct with a feeler guage. No mercury or vacuum test yet. Compression is good on all cylinders. I want to get this bike running as well as I can. I am a machinist and not a mechanic however I am learning.
    If anyone has imput to share I would appreciate it.

Allen (amatco)
    Allen

It is running LEAN LEAN LEAN! It could be that the float level is set too shallow, The jets are restricted by gunk, the vacuum hole to operate the timing is clogged, or some other reason.
    Skids (Sid Hansen)

Down to one 1978 E. Stock air box with K&N filter, 81H pipes and carbs, 8500 feet elevation.

Comment

Adjusting Floats

Thanks for sharing the info --

I beleive your right. I am going to re-clean the carbs (maybe soak in a carb solution).
      It appears that the only way I can richen the carbs is by very carefully bend the float arms. Are the specs in the manuals for proper float height reliable? If so, I will use them.

I admit when I clean the carbs I could have done a better job.
      I did check for float height and they were all the same.

Thanks for the advice - I will let you know the results.

Have a good day, Allen
      Allen

Comment