seat ripping need ideas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• seat ripping need ideas

MY seat is in great shape but has a small tear about 2 " long.can that be repaired at a Upholstery shop.And does anyone know how much.

blackdawg
    BLACKDAWG

I've been told my seat's in great shape, too, but mine's got a big crack in back.... Still, doesn't look too bad for being 47 years old.

Oh, I'm sorry... I misunderstood.
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

hey i seen on ebay where people were selling just the leather. so i know you can find somewhere the replacement leather, i need to do the same, i had to restuff mine with quilt making batting just to get me by till i get a new seat. good luck
      trevonxs11

Comment

I bought a replacement cover several years ago fer about $50, but I can't recall the distributor who makes them. They are out there somewhere.
        "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

I've got a seat being re-done for my MNS project.
          PO had "fixed" it with duck tape.

Polyester upholstery thread and vinyl can be had at your local fabric store. Can patch it, but will show.

mro

Comment

Saddleskins

Hi Blackdawg,
            for US$95 these guys will fix you up with a replacement seat cover:-
            http://www.saddlemen.com/skinsfirst.html
            Or if you want to spend more than the bike cost you, Corbin will build you a seat that'll have you breathing heavy just by sitting on it.
            If you are not into that, go to a sewing supplies shop and buy a semi-circular upholstery needle and some black buttonhole twist and sew it up yourself.
            Fred Hill, S'toon.
            Fred Hill, S'toon
            XS11SG with Spirit of America sidecar
            "The Flying Pumpkin"

Comment