problems again

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• problems again

The bike started doing the same thing again. 1st and 2nd cylinders are'nt firing or are flooding . I cleanded the carbs a couple of weeks ago and its ran great since rode it over 200 miles this weekend. I'm sure its a carb problem now but why would two carbs flood at once i know what to look for but what links the 1-2 carb together? When this happens its both at the same time.

When you cleaned the carbs last time, what did you find?
    The only link between carbs 1&2 is that they share a petcock.
    Now, both are flooding?
    Do you have in-line fuel filters?
    Have you ever taken the petcocks offa the tank to see if they still have their 'screen tower's on them?
    Warn float needles that aren't sealing, or rust and crap passing from the tank to the carbs can can lodge between the needle and seat and not regulate the flow of fuel, hence flooding.
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

carbs

When i cleaned them suprisingly they were very clean . I don't have fuel filters yet i'm gonna put some ont hough . the inside of the tank is very clean i know that does'nt matter i'll take them apart again i just thought it was really odd that they both always flooded at the same time. Thanks for the reply.

Comment

Check the top "T" fitting. the vent for the two carbs are common, and if it's blocked, you will flood. Do a quick test, as the hose should go into a small fitting on the front of the air box. Make sure the fitting is clear, and the hose is clear as well.
        Ray Matteis
        KE6NHG
        XS1100 E '78 (winter project)
        XS1100 SF Bob Jones worked on it!

Comment