Showing off my bike

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Showing off my bike

It's almost done. I had it taken down to the frame. It got a new engine, new front forks, new gas tank, new side panels, rebuilt carbs, rebuilt brakes, and I swapped out the rectangular headlight, turn signals and instruments for circular units from the XS11 Special. Next, I need to find a larger European gas tank and the 17-inch, disc-braked radial-spoked rear wheel off a European XS11 Sport, and then it will be time to paint it.

I only wish I had pictures of it when I bought it nearly two years ago. It was in a sorry state. That's one more XS11 back on the road.
    1979 XS11F Hazuki ('cause she's always trying to make me her slave.)

Looks nice
    Looking at the first picture... man, I wish Yamaha had done something else with those mirrors. (I sanded mine smooth before painting them.)
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Originally posted by prometheus578
      Looks nice
      Looking at the first picture... man, I wish Yamaha had done something else with those mirrors. (I sanded mine smooth before painting them.)
      When I bought the bike, it didn't have any mirrors on it. I had to buy a pair just to get it home.

Comment

was the special gauges easy to mount? did you lose the gas gauge?
        "a good man knows his limitations" dirty harry
        History
        85 Yamaha FJ 1100
        79 yamaha xs1100f
        03 honda cbr 600 f4
        91 yamaha fzr 600
        84 yamaha fj 1100
        82 yamaha seca 750
        87 yamaha fazer
        86 yamaha maxim x
        82 yamaha vision
        78 yamaha rd 400

Comment

Originally posted by mason79
          was the special gauges easy to mount? did you lose the gas gauge?
          Yes, they were very easy to mount. The cables from the original instruments mounted right up. And yes, I did lose the gas gauge. An acceptable loss in my opinion.

Comment