Tires for 1979 XS1100f standard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tires for 1979 XS1100f standard

Just need to know what tires and size to put on front and back of my Xs1100 standard.

Currently running a Bridgestone Spitfire 11F on front
    (100/90/19 57H)
    rear, an old Continental, which is finally getting bald. (I'm not partial to this tire, just wanted to get my money out of it) (130/90/17)
    As for what brand, I like Bridgestone and Dunlop, but... read further:
    http://www.xs11.com/forum/showthread...1&pagenumber=1
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

just mounted

i finished this afternoon putting a set of battleax 110/90 19 on front and modified the rear 17inch tube type rim to use a tubeless battleax 130/90 17 on the rear, went for a short 150mi ride, and the new tires feel great! 1979F
      Costs:
      $180.00 both tires including $25 next day delivery
      3 crome valve stems @ $5 ea.
      Last edited by newrider; 09-23-2006, 10:32 PM.

Comment

"If you don't mind...."

...and even if you do, I'm gonna sing about this one. At least from a safety/liability point of view.
        Tube rims are designed differently than tubeless rims. As are, believe it or 'I don't really car' tube tires and tubeless ones.
        The bead area is the critical spot. I have heard of, but not personally seen, tires, mounted on tube rims without using tubes coming off.
        Duct taping over the rim-lock's holes... hmmm.. no comment... but you get my drift.
        Was actually talk years ago concerning the poor casting quality of the early rims... that the air leaks out through the porous material, but that is minor.
        If anyone has any more input about going tubeless with a tube rim, please pipe up, as I'm an info junkie, looking for more fixes. Everything I've read tells me it's a safety issue, and from a liability point of view, the shops I've worked at refuse to mount them that way.