Short rider advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Short rider advice

I'm new to riding and have found a xs11 special. Before I go any further, I wanted to get advice about the size of the bike for me. I am short, 5'4". I sat on it and don't feel overwhelmed, but I hear that you've got to have both heals on the ground, etc. Is this a bike that should be out-of-bounds for newer riders? And what advice do you have regarding my height and the bike? Thanks in advance.

I'm 5'8" with a 32" inseam. On my E I can't put both heels on the ground and I'm very comfortable with it.
    If you feel comfortable with the reach, even if it's ball of the foot (feet) then it's ok. Just watch for low spots when you come to a stop. If you see that there's a low spot on the pavement on the right side at a stoplight then use the left foot. Try not to cast yourself into a set way of doing things. Be ready to adapt.
    I was riding my TS185 (many) years ago and traffic stopped where I had to put my foot down in an 8" deep puddle. I used my left foot to pop the sidestand down and leaned it on that with my feet on the pegs until the light changed. I leaned right as I let out the clutch and popped the sidestand back up as I got going. My foot stayed dry and the kid in the car next to me started applauding.
    I personally have never felt the need to have both feet flat on the ground when I'm stopped. Others swear by it.
    YMMV
    Pat Kelly
    <p-lkelly@sbcglobal.net>

1978 XS1100E (The Force)
    1980 XS1100LG (The Dark Side)
    2007 Dodge Ram 2500 quad-cab long-bed (Wifes ride)
    1999 Suburban (The Ship)
    1994 Dodge Spirit (Son #1)
    1968 F100 (Valentine)

"No one is totally useless. They can always be used as a bad example"

Comment