Jumping in with both feet!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jumping in with both feet!

Ok folks, I'm posting a couple of "Before" pics of my 79 XS11 Special tonight. I'm doing this because starting tomorrow, it is going into the basement and will remain there until spring, when, HOPEFULLY, it will emerge in spite of my ineptitudes to be the Beauty AND the Beast it was bred to be.
    I have never attempted anything remotely close to this, so I am nervous. I have no "Motorcycle" knowledge, though I am a former ASE certified auto mechanic... (Translation: I have some pretty cool tools.) So the wife and I are going to tackle this together.
    New paint, repair and rechrome the broken sissy bar, rebuild the fuel system, brake system (along with Braided Stainless Lines) and air system. Fresh bearings all around, replacement side covers and a nice set of 4 in to 1's are the goal here. This to go along with the removal of the fairing and installing a headlight, brackets and blinkers as I mentioned in a previous post.

We celebrate our 25th Wedding anniversary in January. This is one of our gifts to us.

I'll be bugging you for tech tips, and looking for the best place to get them steele brake lines later.

Hope these pics work... Say good bye to Plain Jane, the next time she will be seen she will either be in pieces on eBay, or she will be known as the Beauty in the Beast.

Last edited by TomKat; 08-07-2006, 06:35 PM.
    1979 XS1100 SF
    Under Construction,
    Due out by Spring '07
    "Some days, it ain't even worth chewing through the restraints."

TomKat

Well... it's obvious that I better have better wrenching skills than I do Pic posting skills, huh?

Little help!!??
    1979 XS1100 SF
    Under Construction,
    Due out by Spring '07

TomKat

Comment

See her in the SPRING !!!

Put both your heads together U cant fail !!

Bob
      1979 XS1100 SPECIAL (under 18,000 miles Sold 5/12/2016