high speed engine problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• high speed engine problem

I am new at this and have just rebuilt my dad's two 79 XS1100F's and my 80 XS1100G. They all run great, but on my bike(1980), when I get over 80MPH and let off the throttle slightly it seems as though someon hit the kill switch momentarily. I am thinking it is the vacuum advance line but don't know for sure. It only has around 21,000 miles. Any suggestions?
    Thanks,

I am 17, if I can do it, anyone can.
    United States Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, NY
    If I can do it at 18 yrs old, anyone can
    "You know something, You can't polish a turd"
    "What are you rebelling against", "Well, what do you got?"
    Acta Non Verba

Hey HobbyMan,

Welcome, and Congrats on such fine work on such fine machines!

Okay, your 80 seems like it falls on it's face after you reach 80mph, and then back off the throttle slightly like you are trying to maintain that speed, but it won't accept the throttle, right?

The "kill switch" analogy is probably your best diagnostic here. You're close, not so much the vacuum advance hose or module, but it's involved. Under strong throttle the timing plate is being rotated actually LESS due to reduced vacuum to the vacuum advance(really a retarding unit!) under strong throttle so that it keeps the timing advance in the lower range for the best power under strong throttle. When you back off of the throttle, then the vacuum actually increases to the advance unit, and it then increases the timing which is desired for cruising speeds when you have less fuel input.! Sounds Oxymoronic doesn't it!