Road Trip Home

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Road Trip Home

This summer I decided to get back into riding after a lengthy hiatus. Being born and raised in the desert of west Texas, there wasn’t much to do out there except ride. So I started at an early age.

My first experience with a real motorcycle was in 1970 or thereabouts. I was 10 and my grandfather bought a Sears Allstar? It was a 175 cc Puch. It was air cooled, twin, and horizontally opposed. Not much of a bike but enough to hook a 10 year old, even if I had a hard time straddling it.

From there I graduated to dirt bikes. I had a couple KX125, a Honda SL350, and a racer…a Yamaha MX100…the predecessor to the venerable YZ series. Being a desert rat there was no shortage of places to ride and race. The desert is a great place to ride, especially on dirt. I mean there is so much of it, the weather is usually cooperative, and you can’t really tear anything up in the desert because there is nothing to tear up.

As my love of riding grew so did the size of bike. When I went to college I had a 1980 XS650. That was IMO one of the best bikes Yamaha ever made. Though it was not powerful, fast or smooth…the old twin was very durable and reliable and it was my first real street bike. I took several medium range road trips (500-1000 miles) on that 650 Special. It wasn’t much for road trips. Even at that age my back hurt after a few hours on the road. At highway speeds the old twin was somewhat anemic. But nostalgia has etched a favorable image of that bike in my mind.

Fast forward …2004…I had the itch for an old YammyHammer Maxim. Back in college I had driven one of my buddies 650 Maxim on a short 500 mile trip. I fell in lust with that bike. It was so smooth, and fast, and quite. Even for a medium size bike, the XJ650 was fairly comfortable on a road trip. I figured the bigger ones would even be better. In 2004 I discovered I had figured right.