Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1979 Yamaha XS400 Starter Marbles

Hello,
    Half the time my starter fires up just fine from sitting cold. The other half the starter spins round and it sounds like there are a handful of marbles rattling around in the crankcase. At first I thought it was the starter itself, but I am beginning to suspect the starter clutch. Anyone know what the culprit might be and how to fix it? I have read varying accounts from riders and from Yamaha on how to fix this issue on the 650's, however, they have fairly different starter assemblies and I am no engineer. Before I tear apart my spare motor this winter and try and figure it out, I would love to hear from anyone who has encountered this same problem with these smaller bikes. Thanks! Patrick Kennedy
    Your Mileage May Vary

I don't have any XSperience with the 400 but from what you described, it is the sprag (overriding) clutch that is driven by the starter, but is always engaged to the engine. It will spin along as long as the engine is running. There are springs, and rollers that disengage from the starter gear when the engine reaches a certian RPM. Do a little research on a Spragclutch. A Chevy starter drive is an example of sprag clutch.

Comment

thanks John! I'll write back with what I find out. -pdk
      Your Mileage May Vary

Comment

Hello, I did some web research about sprag clutches. I'm not sure if the '79 would have been using that principal or not. Any chance you could take a look at the yamaha schematic and tell me if I am looking in the right place?

(works best in internet explorer)

http://parts.yamaha-motor.com/

Specifically, this is for a 1979 Yamaha XS400F.

Thanks again for the tip!

-Patrick Kennedy
        Your Mileage May Vary

Comment

Thats the right place. Items 6,7,8 and 9 are the sprag clutch.

Comment