81 XV750 won't return to idle .. idles too high

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 81 XV750 won't return to idle .. idles too high

A really nice Hogley rider approached me yesterday and remarked how nicely he thought my bike, a factory stock XS1100 Standard, ran. After some chit chat, he said his nephew had a Yamaha that wouldn't return to idle. Come to find out that this bike is an 81 750 Virago. I told him what I thought in it might be in terms of transverse 4s but I have no personal knowledge of that motor, carb arrangement etc but I'd like to help if I could. This is rural NC and these boys have no internet or confusers ... so here I am !

What would I look for on this model? Can I synch these carbs with my Morgan Carbtune? Is there a manual online somewhere? Other things to watch out for or look for? Lets try that for starters ... and thx.
    80G Mini-bagger
    VM33 Smooth bores, Pods, 4/1 Supertrapp, SS brake lines, fork brace

Past XS11s

79F Stone stocker and former daily driver, sold May '10 now converting for N.O. to cafe style
    79SF eventually dismantled for parts
    79F Bought almost new in 80, sold for a house
    79F The Ernie bike sold to a Navy dude summer 08
    79SF Squared-off Special, Vetter/Bates tour pkg., Mikes XS coils, G rear fender and tail light. Sold June 09

gosh

I thought you got a vtwin for a second , you should be able to sync with just two hoses, you know the deal
    91 kwaka kz1000p
    Stock

( Insert clever quote here )

Comment

Listen here, ...

numbnutz ... if I want crap outa you, I'll just git on out thar and squeez yer head .. ... after I get everyone to sit on ya' so I can reach it.