• Need help on what XS1100 bike I have

Hi,

I'm just starting out in motorcycles.I bought a XS1100 yamaha 1980
    as my first bike.I'm going to do a total restore on it myself as it's
    in bad shape,but I'm not giving up on it.I need to hear it run again

My problem is this...I need to order parts for it like crab kits for one
    But i'm not sure what make I have of the XS1100 as the left and right
    side panels are gone.The title reads for the model XS1100G-S and it's
    a 1980 bike.I have found a 1980 XS1100SG but why is it sg and not gs?

So I would be grateful for some help from you guys on how I can be sure of the make of XS1100 bike I have.

Glad to have joined the site here lots of great info..Thanks Chad

What is it?

Was your "new" bike pretty complete when you bought it? I bought an 80 XS1100SG on the internet. I was pretty lucky to get a decent deal. Not perfect but worth working on. I think the correct model is 1100SG. I will try to help w/ any other ID ect.

Comment

Hello Lordskeep, and welcome to channel 11!!

The model identification most often used is XS1100SG, sound sliek you have the same thing on the title, just someone switched letter around as it is a G model because it is 1980. 78 was the first year and they were E model, 79=F, 80=G, and 81=H. There was only one mdoel originally in 78 the standard or E, in 79 they added the Special or FS model in 80 and 81 they continued th Specials as SG and SH respectively, and also added a Midnight Special or LG and LH for 80 and 81 respectively.