Helmets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Helmets

I am definitely a newbie here, I have ridden a few dirt bikes on the farm, but just never anything close to an XS1100F. So if anyone can give me some pointers on what to look for in a helmet, I.E. how tight, face shield versus open-faced, type of padding. Anything would help.

Thanks, for the help, and an excellent place for info.

Dupman

Snug, not tight. You should not be able to move it around on your head at all, or you will have problems.

I prefer full face, with a visor that can move up and down . . . hinged.

Also I use a tinted visior while traveling . . . so make sure the visor is fairly easy to switch out.

And importantly . . . make sure it has good venting. Removable liners (washble) is also nice.

You can spend anywhere from $90 to $800 . . . I go for the $100 models, you really should replace them every 5 years or so no mattter how much you spend.
    CUAgain,
    Daniel Meyer
    Author. Adventurer. Electrician.
    Find out why...It's About the Ride.

Comment

Someone told me once that tinted visors were not legal at night in PA. I never checked, with a Vetter I just switch from sun glasses at night.

Could they have meant tinted wind screens?

Just curious.
      Marty in NW PA
      Gone - 1978E - one of the first XS11 made
      Gone - 2007A FJR - the only year of Dark Red Metallic
      This IS my happy face.

Comment

No, I have a tinted visor and I swap it for a clear visor for night riding.

Comment

I have a Schubert Concept...
          Modular helmet (the chin part lifts up), it has clear visor and a tinted one integrated to cover the eyes when necessary... no exchange necessary. Not on the cheap side, but not too expencive.

http://www.helmetsrus.com/schubconhel.html

LP
          If it doesn't have an engine, it's not a sport, it's only a game.
          (stole that one from I-dont-know-who)

Comment