New member introduction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member introduction

Hello, I kicked the members list up a notch today and became a registered user. Thank You...For the privilege. My neighbor moved and gave me his 79 XS1100SF. It sat in his garage since 1999. It needs the works and this site will help me work things out for sure. I drained the carbs, added fuel, installed a battery and to my surprise it fired up!!!!!after several attempts.

From Fremont, California
    Thank You
    Gene D.

79 XS1100SF (50K)Restoration Project
    79 XS1100SF My Cruiser(Money Pit)

sounds good and welcome you got any questions just ask i am sure somebody on here can help yo uout
    79 yamaha xs1100f standard
    best 1/4 mile 13.282@99.40

Comment

Thanks bandet01, I'm waiting for my carb kits then the adventure begins.
      Gene D.

Comment

New members means another XS has come back to life. Both reasons to celebrate. Welcome
        "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Thanks again for the welcome, and especially to all the XS-XJ group members for giving me the motivation and resources to suceed in my restoration project.
          Gene D.

Comment

Hey Simplyd1,

Welcome to the wide world of Xsiveness!! I hope you've been lurking for a while and have had the time to read thru the tech tips and such! The carb kits are a first possible problem! IF you get kits with the dreaded K&L pilot jets, you'll be in for more trouble than when you started, so make sure you don't get or install those jets, but clean your OEM's and put them back in!

Good luck.
            T. C. Gresham
            81SH "Godzilla" . . .1179cc super-rat.
            79SF "The Teacher" . . .basket case!
            History shows again and again,
            How nature points out the folly of men!

Comment

Welcome to the Gang...