Big bore kit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big bore kit

How can I tell if my XS11 has a big bore kit in it?

Originally posted by blkryno View Post
    pull the head off and measure the bore.

Comment

thank you, do you know off hand what the measurements are for stock and big bore.

Comment

thank you, do you know off hand what the measurements are for stock and big bore.
        standard bore 71.5mm. big bore depends on what size has been fitted !!!!

Comment

Unless you picked the bike up from an unknown source such as an auction or a salvage type sale my best guess is you'd know if it where a big bore since that would be a selling point to increase it's value in most cases.
          1980 XS1100G

These aren't my words, I just arrange them

Comment

Assuming that you have ridden other XS11s, wouldn't you be able to tell if there is a performance difference in a big bore bike? I have zero experience with big bore kits, but isn't that the whole purpose? Increased performance? If not noticeable, then it seems like the expense may not be worth the benefit. Can anyone with big bore experience comment please? I'm just curious. Thanks.
            Bob's Bikes:
            79SF, Military theme.

Bob's websites:
            https://projectxs11.wordpress.com
            https://rucksackgrunt.com

Bob's Books:
            "
            Project XS11"
            "Rucksack Grunt"
            "Small Unit Leadership"
            "Beatrice B. Goode"

Bob's Parts:
            For Sale Here.

Comment

Main thing a big bore will do is add to your torque. Of course you'll gain some horsepower as that is a function of torque and RPM. However down low and mid range is what I understand you will notice.
              Howard

ZRX1200

BTW, ZRX carbs have the same spacing as the XS11... http://www.xs11.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35462

Comment

Originally posted by Ranger_xs1100 View Post