Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What makes a $500 helmet ...

... a $500 helmet?

Like I said in my welcome thread, I'm new to motorcycles. I bought some gear to get me through my rider safety course, but that was before I got my XS and found you helpful people. So I have a HJC CL-17.
    Reasons I bought this one...
    • Full face
    • SNELL approved
    • Moderately cheap (like me)
    • Decent reviews

So my question is, what other features could I / should I be looking for? What's a $500 helmet got over this one? Comms obviously, but there's got to be more than that. I've heard some complain about wind noise. How do you know if it's going to have wind noise issues until you ride with it? Are there certain materials that suppress noise best? What do you all look for when shopping for a helmet?
    SF / SH Frankenbike
    • SF - frame, carbs
    • SH - engine
    • TBD - everything else

Fit .........................
    It comes down to personal preference and what you think fits you well.

Also, we can't predict what kind of wreck we might have or how we might land when we get tossed off so brand A vs B may or not make any difference as long as the helmet fits properly.

I buy Shoei because it fits me (like a glove). I've tried & tried other brands in all price ranges from $100 to $800 but nothing fits me as well as Shoei. Even an expensive Arai just does not fit me at all. (need a round head I think and mine is pointed)
    I'd much rather spend $150 than $500+ but after riding for many years and having many helmets (whether Sport bike or Touring bike or something in between) the Shoei has always been a good fit & quiet.

Many folks ride happily with HJC. If the helmet fits and you are happy with it then you got a winner. and $300 for gas to go ride.
    Helmet is a safety device and fit is one of the key components in providing you the safety you are expecting.

Jeff
    Last edited by JeffH; 08-04-2017, 01:47 PM.
    78' XS1100 E