Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• safety course

https://www.ottawasafetycouncil.org/...-up---m1-exit/

I got thru the lecture last night, barely, lots of boring videos and the instructor was without a pulse. Also, I didn't like all the references to death. Never did the instructor comment on any of the positives of motorcycle riding. it was like a sex education course that warns you all about aids, herpes, crabs, syphilis, and well have a good time and good luck!
    Frame: 79 XS1100S
    Engine: 81 XS1100S
    Carbs: 78-79 BS34

Gf bike: 78 XS650S
    Carbs: 70-79 BS38

Pics: http://tinypic.com/2mpmkpjb

Another ripoff...When I started riding street bikes there was no such thing as a safety course or a MC endorsement on your license...nor were helmets or insurance a requirement... 39 years of on the road/street riding is the only course i have had...like the old days "flying by the seat of your pants" YMMV
    1980 XS650G Special-Two
    1993 Honda ST1100

Comment

riding course------none

I have been riding since 1954, never heard of endorsements, insurance requirements, rider courses back then. The bikes available then all had foot clutch, hand shift, bikes were very clumsy and hard to handle, Indians were left hand throttle and right hand shift. Many of the old Harleys and Indians had car tires on them. Springer front ends, Indians had sliding pillar rear, Harleys were rigid. All were heavy and compared to todays bikes, pathetic, but we rode them anyhow. Very few riders of today would be able to handle them.
      put something smooooth betwen your legs, XS eleven
      79 F (Blueballs)
      79 SF (Redbutt)
      81 LH (organ donor)
      79 XS 650S (gone to MC heaven)
      76 CB 750 (gone to MC heaven)
      rover has spoken

Comment

i agree with both you guys, but only reason the gf and I are doing the course is to pay less in insurance. I learned nothing that I didn't already know from reading the motorcycle handbook that cost $15.