Blast Cabinet Possibility

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blast Cabinet Possibility

I'm looking at this big old igloo freezer thinking "Wouldn't this make an AWESOME Blast cabinet? It's already got sealed doors and the size etc would allow for an entire frame if desired with room at the bottom for media collection etc.

The only thing I would be concerned about would be my lack of sheet metal skills and the reaction from my wife when I showed up with this beauty and tried to put it in my garage... I'd really like to be able to do my own powder coating for cheap... but also would like to stay married, so we'll see.

Auction link is here: https://www.purplewave.com/cgi-bin/m...?150804/BQ9527

Photo:
    79 XS1100F (The SS Dumbo)
    - Her ears flap when you get up to highway speeds...

* Complete newb as far as attempting a restore, just couldn't pass her up after a test drive. She deserves better than whatever happened to her so far...
    * She's an "F".... More or less. has a pretty good mix of SF/F/?? Parts on her at the moment though.

My first thought was, man, that insulated box is going to get warm inside, which in itself may be an illogical observation for a blast cabinet, but I also then realized it is a freezer after all.

When it's not a working blast cabinet, it can keep your beer cold..
    82J · 81SH · 79SF Fire Damage · 78E · 79F Parts Bike · 04 Buell Blast
    Website/Blog

Comment

would the sand eat thru the thin Alum skin...dont know...just thinking
      Salty dog
      Eastern NC
      XJ-1100 Naked Boy

Comment

Cheaper and easier

Just spend $200 on one from Harbor Freight already set up and ready to use on day one.

The compressor in that one is dead too btw, no cold beer for you!

I might convert it into a gas fired oven for powder coating as it is almost big enough to hold a motorcycle frame and that is a simple process. Hardest thing would be regulating the temperature.

/my $0.02
        79 SF & 80 LG MNS