What have you run over lately?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What have you run over lately?

Ben's recent post about dodging a loose tire (Run free! Fly!) on the freeway got me to thinking . . .

I have had a long and interesting driving career. Motorcycles since I was about 8 years old, 18-Wheelers, and hundred's of thousands (really) of miles in cars and light trucks. I drive so much that I have rarely sold anything that was not completely worn out (290K miles on the last light truck).

Basically every kind of rig that's ever been made . . .

I am a safe but aggressive driver, with an excellent record, but nevertheless, if you are out there a lot, things happen. I have seen and occasionally impacted a lot of stuff on the freeways. Occasionally I have been the "dropee" myself.

For all the weird stuff I see (but miss) I cannot help but actually imagine the item(s) falling off a truck in front of me when I am on my bike. Many times the most coherent thought is Aggghhhhhkkkk! (or Holy sh!t!!)

Anyway, some of the things I have encountered:

In my truck: Guy in a convertible looses a battle with a bag of Cheetos (the puffy ones). Not sure why he was fighting with it, but he did get it open. The bag ripped spectacularly and I promptly drove through a rather large cloud of puffy cheetos. Many came in the window so I had an impromptu snack (using the 10 second rule of course).

In a 78 Ford van: I had large double mirrors (for trailer towing). I looked out the right mirror just in time to see the top convex mirror fly off (the glass came out of the frame). Watched in the lower mirror as it impacted the windshield of the car behind me and exploded into shards of glass . I pulled off, but he did not so I assume it caused no damage.