Kiwi's please check in!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kiwi's please check in!

More disaster down under. I know we have some Kiwi brothers, and I hope they have survived today's quake. I gather that the north island is roughly the same size as our state of Oregon, so I'm pretty sure that this quake has affected the whole island.
    Special Ed
    Old bikers never die, they're just out of sight!

My recently re-built, hopped up '79 Special caught fire and burned everything from the top of the engine up: gas tank, wiring, seat, & melted my windshield all over the front of the bike. Just bought a 1980 Special that has been non oped for 9 years. My Skoot will rise from the ashes and be re named "The Phoenix!"
    I've been riding since 1959.

Hey guys, thanks for your thoughts. I am in Christchurch, the place where the earthquake happened. I work in a white wear assembly plant, when the quake hit i was surrounded by steel parts sliding off of shelves, ovens and cookers falling over .. the amount of debris created in a few seconds was amazing. Thankfully our building stayed upright, our 200 man team all got out uninjured. Hopefully I will have work to return too, I was very lucky.
    Sadly the rest of my home town has not been so lucky. If you have been watching any reports, over 80% of the buildings in our central business district have been damaged, we have lost a known 75 of our fellow citizens her in Christchurch, with reported 300 missing. That may seem as small number to some of you guys, but please remember we are a nation of only 4.2 million.
    Some of you guys have been in war zones during your military service, that's what our town center looks like. 50 city blocks trashed, our infrastructure has been destroyed, the city of 380,000 people has no water or sewerage systems working, although electricity has been restored to 90% of the city.