Riding etiquette question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Riding etiquette question

I'm rather new to the world of riding, and I've recently had a few opportunities to do something, and I'm not sure if it's "ok" to do it.

While riding down the highway, I will often come up on another rider (or 2 or 3) ahead of me going the same direction. Is it acceptable to simply fall in behind them as though we were going somewhere together? Or should I change lanes and go around or maintain a bit of separation? I just want to be sure I'm not pissing off some other rider on the road - especially when he's in a position to throw something at me!
    1980 XS850SG - Sold
    1981 XS1100LH Midnight Special (Sold) - purchased 9/29/08
    Fully Vetterized and Dynojet Kit added, Heated Grips, Truck-Lite LED headlight, Accel Coils, Irridium plugs, TKAT Fork Brace, XS850LH Final Drive & Black SS Brake lines from Chacal.
    Here's my web page devoted to my bike! XS/XJ User's Manuals there, and the XJ1100 Service Manual and both XS1100 Service manuals (free download!).

Whether you think you can, or you think you cannot - You're right.
    -H. Ford

I assume, if you caught up to them you are travelling slightly faster than they are. If it is a multiple lane road they may wonder why if you just sit behind them, but I doubt they would throw anything at you.

If it is a multi-lane, then I would lane change and putt past at whatever speed you were doing, and wave as I go by.

If it's a single lane then you can sit back there all day if you like. Some people just don't like to pass.
    Nice day, if it doesn't rain...

'05 ST1300
    '83 502/502 Monte Carlo for sale/trade

Comment