DMMs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DMMs

I was schooled as an electrical engineer focusing on electronics mainly because of my interest in tinkering. Unfortunately, now I work in the power industry and never get to use what I learned. Now I need a meter and soldering iron to do some work on my new bike and was going to take the oppurtunity to get a nice DMM I could also use for tinkering with analog audio stuff in my spare time. I was wondering if any of you guys had any recommendations along these lines. I am overwhelmed by the options and prices on a lot of meters. I just know we used nice Fluke and Agilent stuff in school and both are really expensive, though typically worth it. I've read both here and elsewhere that some DMMs are too slow for some applications, so I don't want to fork over a lot of cash and have it perform marginally on one of my two applications for it.

Oh and I can't go too cheap because the first circuit I am going to work on is a vacuum tube one. The thing has to be able to handle some voltage.
    It's pronounced "Joey"

1979 XS1100 Special

You can get a decent Fluke for 100 or 150, obviously not top of the line, but definitely usable. and if you need something really quick in response, for use in some "older" type circuits (tubes etc) get a decent analog meter, like a Simpson 260 VOM, lots of folks still use them, I for one respect them immensely as it was the gold standard in meters before there was a gold standard, cant go wrong with either choice, or both for that matter. have a nice day and ride safe
    I am the Lorax, I speak for the Trees

'80 XS1100 SG (It's Evil, Wicked, Mean & Nasty)

'79 XS1100 F R (IL Barrachino)

'00 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (La Soccola)

'77 KZ400s (La Putana)

Comment

meters...