• A legend is born

Check this thread out

What NOT to do
    XS1100SF
    XS1100F

A real pair of boobs!

(And I don't mean that in a nice way)
    I mean... how dumb can one be?
    And all those "test" holes in the sub fender...
    What'd the guy do?
    "Hmmm... I must have hit the frame... I'll drill over here. Hmm, frame again, maybe I try over here. Ahh, that's it... drill went through nicely!"
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Looks like that guy learned a lesson about screwing up and asking for help. Those posts are vicious.
      Does that speak of the maturity of their posters? Makes me feel mighty glad I own a XS1100. I'm not up and running yet and the day may come where I get screwed up. However I feel pretty comfortable that if the day comes and I really step in it, I can expect some help without 40,000 posts telling me I'm an a$$ hole.
      You really got feel sorry for the guy. For whole bunch of reasons.
      Here is hopin that I don't drill any.............
      RIP Whiskers (Shop Boss) 25+yrs

"It doesn't hurt until you find out no one is looking"

Everything on hold...

Comment

It ranks right up there with those of us that have bent valves adjusting the tensioner....

Or should I mention that? :^)
        Nice day, if it doesn't rain...

'05 ST1300
        '83 502/502 Monte Carlo for sale/trade

Comment

It ranks right up there with those of us that have bent valves adjusting the tensioner....
          Or the guy... with his head(the bike's, not his)on his work bench, using a wrench to rotate the cams around, and sending the intake valves on a collision course with the open exhaust valves.

Oh Latexeses... that's all part of the fun.
          Like WildKat says: "You might as well laugh at yourself... everybody else is."
          If you work on stuff long enough, you're bound to do something stupid.
          Ask me sometime why I have JBWeld holdin' part of my cylinders together.