I need info???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need info???

I just got a 82 XJ1100 that needs help,so this is my first time here,but I'll be here alot as I proceed.
    My first project is to paint the fairing, saddlebags and luggage carrier,using black spray can paint,could someone tell me step by step, the procedure to get this done, and do I need to do any prep work before rechroming,some of the metal has some rust where it got scrached.and where can I find a list of cleaners and waxes that works the best on M.C. parts.
    Thanks to anyone that could help me out.
    P.S. any one in the San Diego that could help me out with repairs?

For painting, the prep work is what you need to pay attention to. If the base isn't smooth, the paint won't be smooth.
    I would wet sand everything with 300 grit paper to begin with, and then go to 500grit. Use a good paint, and then use a clear coat over the black. If you wet sand with 800 to 1000 grit between coats, the paint should look 1" deep.
    You can look at the "Tech Tips" on the left side of the page. They will help you with LOT of questions you may have. You can also do a "search" for threads that probably will answer most of your questions.
    Welcome to the world of Xsives, and hang on, as the ride can be fast.
    Ray Matteis
    KE6NHG
    XS1100 E '78 (winter project)
    XS1100 SF Bob Jones worked on it!

Comment

As for the rechroming.... ask the chromers... Some like the material clean, smooth and polished, some do it for you...
      If they can do it for you, go for it. They arent usually that expencive.

LP
      If it doesn't have an engine, it's not a sport, it's only a game.
      (stole that one from I-dont-know-who)

Comment